Aug 4 – 7, 2020
Asia/Tokyo timezone

Under the difficult circumstance due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a number of academic conferences have been cancelled or postponed including Lattice 2020, the primary annual conference in the lattice field theory. As a consequence, researchers, especially our young colleagues, have lost the opportunity to present their research. Through this all online conference, which is held on Aug 4-7, 2020, we aim to address this situation by creating an opportunity to present to an international audience.

The structure of this symposium follows the parallel session format of the annual lattice conference. We choose the timezone which is most convenient for Asia-Pacific participants: 2:00pm-5:40pm in Japan and Korea, 1:00pm-4:40pm in China, etc. The parallel sessions are all on-line.

The subjects are also those of the annual lattice conference, and everyone who would like to participate and give a talk is welcome.

The subjects of the talk include

  • Algorithms and Machines
  • Applications Beyond QCD
  • Chiral Symmetry
  • Hadron Spectroscopy and Interactions
  • Hadron Structure
  • QCD at nonzero Temperature and Density
  • Physics Beyond the Standard Model
  • Standard Model Parameters and Renormalisation
  • Theoretical Developments
  • Vacuum Structure and Confinement
  • Weak Decays and Matrix Elements
  • Code Development

in Lattice Field Theory.

Please register and submit an abstract through the registration page. Deadline for abstract submission is Friday, July 17, 2020. The registration is free of charge. The connection information will be sent to the participants before the event.

[New July 14, 2020] To further recognise our most outstanding early-career colleagues,  we are pleased to announce the "Best Presentation Awards" sponsored through generous support from the Asian Nuclear Physics Association (ANPhA).  The awards will recognise outstanding research by graduate students and early-career post-doctoral research associates within 5 years of the award of their PhD, relative to opportunity.  Awards will be announced broadly to our community following the on-line conference via lattice-news.

[New July 22, 2020] A preliminary program is available.

Optionally, the speakers can submit a contributed paper to arXiv mentioning the proceedings of APLAT 2020. Details will be posted later.


This symposium is co-hosted by KEK Theory Center and sponsored by Asian Nuclear Physics Association (ANPhA).

Organizers: Yasumichi Aoki (RIKEN R-CCS), Xu Feng (Peking U.), Shoji Hashimoto (KEK, chair), Takashi Kaneko (KEK), Weonjong Lee (Seoul National U), Derek Leinweber (U. of Adelaide), C.J. David Lin (National Chiao Tung U.), Jun Nishimura (KEK)